Welcome to the IRDC

IRDC stands for the International Reference and Development Centre for Surgical Technology. The IRDC went into operation in the summer of 2009 in the former villa of Fritz Baedeker, the successful publisher of travel guides. Here, knowledge and vision, as well as research and development, have come together in a unique symbiosis. The Centre is based on an interdisciplinary exchange between the firm KARL STORZ and universities, medical technology engineers, surgeons and industrial cooperation partners. The tasks that the IRDC has set itself are to promote knowledge transfer, to push the development of new technologies forward and to integrally demonstrate a high level of practical application.

„With the IRDC we are fulfilling a dream: a joint demonstration of our systems and competencies in everyday operation and further development on-site in direct collaboration with surgeons. This corresponds to the principle of KARL STORZ that is being applied to today’s challenges. You are warmly welcome!“
Dr. h. c. mult. Sybill Storz
Executive Management of KARL STORZ GmbH & Co. KG, Tuttlingen
„Planning the IRDC was a challenge. For the first time we were required to integrate products of KARL STORZ and the participating partners both spatially and logistically in nearly every area of surgical treatment. I believe that we have successfully managed to do exactly this. And we have learned a great deal for our future projects.“
Felix Aries
CEO MedPlan Engineering, Schaffhausen
„The IRDC is the product of many years of research and development work in the area of automated surgical technology, together with KARL STORZ and excellent engineers such as Prof. Dr. Tim Lüth. In many respects, the IRDC is entering uncharted territory and in this way we hope to familiarise as many colleagues as possible with the technologies and operating techniques that we have developed.“
Prof. Dr. med. habil. Gero Strauss
Managing Director of the IRDC, Leipzig

The IRDC is the logical continuation of many years of collaboration

Medical technology is transforming surgery

One of the most exciting areas of innovation in modern surgery is medical device technology, which makes use of micro-device technology, information technology, electrical engineering, electronics and sensor technology.

The surgeon is thus experiencing a reorientation in all phases of his daily work, with increasing demands placed on him. In a positive sense, today one can speak of surgery automation, which places an emphasis on the safety and efficiency of treatment and which further standardises surgery and makes it more transparent.

For over 10 years KARL STORZ has been accompanying these developments in nearly all aspects through its own innovations and cooperative research partnerships. For products such as the mobile navigation system NPU, the STS training system for temporal bone surgery, and the special surgical OR, numerous tests and trials have been done in advance and numerous publications have been written.

It was time to take the next step

In this context, the International Reference and Development Centre for Surgical Technology (IRDC) has the task of consolidating all products and prototypes from the area of surgical automation by KARL STORZ and partners into a functioning system. In this way, the presentation, evaluation, training and further development of the individual components can be combined into a greater whole.

Willkommen am IRDC

IRDC - dahinter verbirgt sich das International Reference and Development Centre for Surgical Technology. Das IRDC hat im Sommer 2009 seinen Betrieb in der ehemaligen Villa von Fritz Baedeker, dem erfolgreichen Verleger von Reisehandbüchern, aufgenommen. Es bildet eine einzigartige Symbiose aus Wissen und Vision, aus Forschung und Entwicklung. Es stützt sich auf einen interdisziplinären Austausch des Unternehmens KARL STORZ mit Universitäten, Medizintechnikern, Chirurgen und industriellen Kooperationspartnern. Das IRDC hat sich zur Aufgabe gestellt, den Wissenstransfer zu fördern, die Entwicklung neuer Techniken voranzutreiben und Anwendungspraxis auf hohem Niveau ganzheitlich zu demonstrieren.

„Mit dem IRDC erfüllen auch wir uns einen Traum: eine gemeinsame Demonstration unserer Systeme und Kompetenzen im täglichen Betrieb und eine Weiterentwicklung vor Ort in direkter Zusammenarbeit mit den Chirurgen. Das entspricht dem Prinzip von KARL STORZ in Anwendung auf die heutigen Herausforderungen. Seien Sie herzlich willkommen!“
Dr. h. c. mult. Sybill Storz
Geschäftsleitung der KARL STORZ GmbH & Co. KG, Tuttlingen
„Die Planung des IRDC war eine Herausforderung. Zum ersten Mal waren wir gefordert, in nahezu allen Bereichen der chirurgischen Behandlung die Produkte von KARL STORZ und den beteiligten Partnern räumlich und logistisch zu integrieren. Ich glaube, das ist uns gelungen. Und wir haben viel für unsere zukünftigen Projekte gelernt.“
Felix Aries
CEO MedPlan Engineering, Schaffhausen
„Das IRDC ist das Produkt einer langjährigen Forschung und Entwicklungsarbeit auf dem Gebiet der chirurgischen Automationstechnik gemeinsam mit KARL STORZ und hervorragenden Ingenieuren wie Prof. Dr. Tim Lüth. Das IRDC betritt in vieler Hinsicht Neuland und wir hoffen, die von uns entwickelten Technologien und OP-Techniken auf diese Weise möglichst vielen Kollegen nahe zu bringen.“
Prof. Dr. med. habil. Gero Strauss
Geschäftsführender Direktor des IRDC, Leipzig

Das IRDC ist der logische Schritt einer langfristigen Zusammenarbeit

Medizintechnologie verändert die Chirurgie

Eines der spannendsten Innovationsgebiete der modernen Chirurgie ist die Medizingerätetechnik. Sie bedient sich der Mikrogerätetechnik, Informationstechnologie, Elektrotechnik, Elektronik, Sensorik.

Der Chirurg erlebt dadurch in allen Phasen seiner täglichen Arbeit eine Umgestaltung mit steigenden Anforderungen an ihn. Im positiven Sinne darf heute von einer Automation der Chirurgie gesprochen werden, die die Sicherheit und Effizienz der Behandlung in den Vordergrund stellt und die die Chirurgie weiter standardisiert und nachvollziehbarer macht.

Seit über 10 Jahren begleitet KARL STORZ diese Entwicklungen in nahezu allen Aspekten durch eigene Innovationen und Forschungskooperationen. Für Produkte wie das mobile Navigationssystem NPU, das Trainingssystem STS für die Felsenbeinchirurgie, und den spezialchirurgischen OP sind unzählige Tests und Versuche vorausgegangen sowie zahlreiche Publikationen entstanden.

Es war Zeit, den nächsten Schritt zu gehen

Das International Reference and Development Centre for Surgical Technology (IRDC) hat in diesem Zusammenhang die Aufgabe, alle Produkte und Prototypen aus dem Bereich der chirurgischen Automation von KARL STORZ und den Partnern in einem funktionierenden System zusammenzuführen. Es dient der Präsentation, Evaluation, dem Training und der Weiterentwicklung der einzelnen Bausteine zu einem großen Ganzen.