Welcome to Leipzig!
box_leipzig1
box_leipzig2
box_leipzig3

Discover the vibrant life of this city where people from around the world come together. The bourgeois city of Leipzig convinces through its creative energy, innovative spirit and the liberal, cosmopolitan spirit of an exhibition and university city.

Find out more at www.leipzig.de

Dazzling Leipzig and the special connection to KARL STORZ

A city of music, a city of books, an exhibition centre – Leipzig has many aspects. This was the place where significant cultural figures such as Johann Sebastian Bach, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe and Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy lived and worked. However, the trade fairs and exhibitions most significantly determined the rhythm of the city and still characterise its image to this day. In 1989 the prayers for peace in the Nikolaikirche (St. Nicholas’ Church) and the Monday demonstrations wrote history – they became the catalyst for the peaceful revolution and German reunification. This city with half a million residents is today one of the most promising locations in Germany.

Home to science and surgery

The Alma mater Lipsiensis founded in 1409 is the second oldest university in Germany with continuous instruction. In 1580 the Department for Surgery and Anatomy was established. Today Leipzig is once again an important centre for medical studies, top research and clinical practice.

The special connection of Dr. Karl Storz with Leipzig

After completing his three-year apprenticeship as an instrument manufacturer, Dr. Karl Storz went to Leipzig in 1928. He became a dealer for the Frenzel trading company in medical technology. Here, he became familiar with, and learned to appreciate, the high quality of the products from the instrument manufacturer C. G. Heynemann. When he was 35 years old, Dr. Karl Storz returned to French-occupied Tuttlingen in 1945 and with the help of his father founded today’s company KARL STORZ.

„The position in Leipzig was a godsend for me. We encountered nearly all endoscopes from the companies which existed at that time. The various tasks excited me. That was the impetus. After all, at home we had our own instrument manufacturing workshop. I knew exactly where we had to start.“
Dr. Karl Storz
From a conversation with H. Mainusch on 3 April 1996

Herzlich Willkommen in Leipzig!
box_leipzig1
box_leipzig2
box_leipzig3

Entdecken Sie das pulsierende Leben dieser Stadt, in der sich Menschen aus aller Welt zusammenfinden. Die Bürgerstadt Leipzig überzeugt durch ihre Schaffenskraft, Innovationsgeist und einem liberalen weltoffenen Geist einer Messe- und Universitätsstadt.

Mehr erfahren Sie unter www.leipzig.de

Das glanzvolle Leipzig und die besondere Beziehung zu KARL STORZ

Musikstadt, Buchstadt, Messestadt – Leipzig hat viele Namen. Hier war die Wirkungsstätte von bedeutenden Größen der Kultur wie Johann Sebastian Bach, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy. Am deutlichsten jedoch bestimmte die Messe den Rhythmus der Stadt und prägt ihr Bild bis heute. 1989 schrieben die Friedensgebete in der Nikolaikirche und die Montagsdemonstrationen Wendegeschichte, sie wurden Auslöser der friedlichen Revolution und der deutschen Wiedervereinigung. Heute zählt die Halbmillionenstadt zu den zukunftsträchtigsten Plätzen Deutschlands.

Heimat für Wissenschaft und Chirurgie

Die 1409 gegründete Alma Mater Lipsiensis ist die zweitälteste Universität Deutschlands mit durchgehendem Lehrbetrieb. 1580 wurde der Lehrstuhl für Chirurgie und Anatomie eingerichtet. Heute ist Leipzig wieder bedeutendes Zentrum für medizinische Lehre, Spitzenforschung und klinische Praxis.

Die Besondere Beziehung von Dr. Karl Storz zu Leipzig

Nach Abschluss seiner dreijährigen Lehre als Instrumentenmacher zog es Dr. Karl Storz 1928 nach Leipzig. Er wurde Kaufmann beim Handelshaus für Medizintechnik Frenzel und lernte dort die hohe Qualität der Produkte des Instrumentenmachers C. G. Heynemann kennen und schätzen.

Als 35jähriger kehrte Dr. Karl Storz 1945 in das französisch besetzte Tuttlingen zurück und gründete dort mit Hilfe des Vaters die heutige Firma KARL STORZ.

„Für mich war die Position in Leipzig ein Glücksfall. Es kamen so gut wie alle Endoskope der damals existierenden Firmen über unseren Ladentisch. Die verschiedenen Arbeiten haben mich begeistert. Das war ein Anstoß. Schließlich hatten wir zu Hause eine eigene Instrumentenmacherwerkstatt. Ich wusste sehr genau, wo man anfangen musste.“
Dr. Karl Storz
Aus einem Gespräch mit H. Mainusch am 03.April 1996